The MasterGuild Series

The MasterGuild Series

Chamber Music at Holy Names University
with Roy Bogas and friends


MasterGuild is proud to announce its 2016-2017 series of chamber music concerts. There will be four concerts starting on Sunday, October 23rd at 7:15 P.M. (with one concert presented on a Monday evening, February 13th) in the Regents’ Theater on the campus of Holy Names University, 3500 Mountain Boulevard in the Oakland hills, just off Highway 13 at the Redwood Road exit. All concerts take place on Sunday evenings at 7:15 P.M. except the February 13th concert, which is on a Monday evening. The concerts last about two hours. Sunday evening avoids many of the inevitable conflicts with other events that take place around the Bay on Saturday evenings and Sunday afternoons. The complete dates are: October 23rd, January 15th, February 13th and
March 26th.
This season’s concerts will feature the return of two fine violinists, Krista Bennion Feeney on January 15th, and Cordula Merks. Krista is originally from the Bay Area and is now concertmaster of the St. Luke’s Orchestra in New York. Her impressive bio is on our artist’s bio page. She will be heard in two great trios by Beethoven and Brahms, plus the Martinu Duo with our wonderful cellist Peter Wyrick.
Cordula Merks is the newly appointed concertmaster of the San Francisco Ballet orchestra and comes to us from the Seattle Symphony, where she is at present Assistant Concertmaster. Prior to that, she was concertmaster of several orchestras in Germany and remains an avid chamber music player. We all loved her playing last season and we look forward to hearing her in two very different concerts this season. On March 26th she will be joined by her colleague in the Seattle Symphony, cellist Meeka Quan, who is originally from the Bay Area. Cordula and Meeka will each play a sonata with pianist Roy Bogas and then all three will combine to play the delightful D Minor trio by Felix Mendelssohn.
On the Monday concert on February 13th, Cordula will join with our larger group which includes violinist Amy Hiraga, violist Nancy Ellis, and cellist Peter Wyrick, plus pianist Roy Bogas in our larger ensemble program.
In addition to the popular A major quintet by Dvorak and Mozart’s lovely D Minor string quartet, Peter and Roy will perform Beethoven’s Third Cello sonata in A Major.
I hope that you will be able to attend one or more of our programs this season and that you will tell your friends about MasterGuild. Looking forward to seeing you at our concerts, I am your artistic director,
Roy Bogas

Director and pianist Roy Bogas presents this exciting East Bay chamber music series with soloists and chamber musicians from the Bay Area and beyond. Concerts take place in Oakland in the Regents’ Theater, Valley Center for the Performing Arts, at Holy Names University in Oakland, 3500 Mountain Blvd. on Sundays and an occasional Monday at 7:15 P.M. Admission prices are $20 general, $15. seniors and $5. for students with ID, at the door, cash or check. For further information, please call (510) 559-8535 or email

If you would like to receive concert notices via e-mail, please click the Sign Up button in the upper right corner of this web page, or send an e-mail message to:  Sending concert information via e-mail will ensure that you receive prompt notification of new concert events.  It also saves mailing expense and contributes to the financial health of the MasterGuild Series. We appreciate your cooperation.